» Ayurvedic treatment of psoriasis - Experiences from clinical research

Year: 2021
Language: English

Age is just a number especially when your skincare is on priority. The best foundation you can wear is a healthy skin, it is a reflection of overall wellness. Skin is the most exposed boundary with the outside world, Skin diseases are frequently noticeable to others. Due to typically connected social stigma to skin diseases, the sufferer has to cope with both their disease and the negative reaction from others. Hence investment in skin is most important as it is going to represent us for a very long time. Psoriasis is a chronic immune mediated (as autoimmune), multisystem inflammatory disease with predominantly skin and joint involvement. It significantly impairs the quality of life of patients and results in great physical, emotional and social burden. Psoriasis has been recognized by the World Health Organization as a serious, disfiguring, disabling, noncommunicable disease that represents a significant public health challenge due to its psychological, social and economic burden (i). According to a scientific study, Psoriasis burden was greatest in countries with high income and high sociodemographic index (ii). Even though, management of Psoriasis in contemporary medicine is advancing with scientific researches there is a high rate of recurrence. That’s where Ayurveda management grounds better.

There are various studies conducted on the efficacy of bio-purification (Shodhana) and oral Ayurvedic drugs in Psoriasis. Such studies reported significant relief in signs and symptoms of psoriasis and better quality of life with no further episodes of recurrence after repeated bio-purification in regular interval of time (iii).

Bio-Purification (Shodhana) along with external therapies probably may have lead to endogenous changes in the body responsible for the alleviation of psoriatic pathology. It would have also resulted in anti-inflammatory action which causes inhibition of cytokines and keratinocyte proliferation (iv). The data collected from the observation of the clinical research are promising with 80-90% improvement at statistical significance of ( P<0.005 ) in sign and symptoms of psoriasis on the basis of PASI and DLQI. During presentation all the outcomes and experience throughout the clinical research will be shared in detail along with relevant evidences.

_____________

References

(i) World Health Organization. Global report on psoriasis. Available at: https://apps.who.int/iris/handle/10665/204417
(ii) Sino Mehrmal, Prabhdeep Uppal, Natalie Nedley, Rachel L. Giesey, Gregory R. Delost, The global, regional, and national burden of psoriasis in 195 countries and territories, 1990 to 2017: a systematic analysis from the Global Burden of Disease Study 2017, Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, Volume 84, Issue 1,2021, Pages 46-52, ISSN 0190-9622.
(iii) Sneha patil, Prashanth bhat.Importance of repeated Shodhana in Kitibha Kushtha(Psoriasis) Acase study .IJAPR,2021;9:40-44.
(iv) Gunjan Mangal,Gopesh Mangal,Radhey Sham.Clinical efficacy of Shodhana karma and Shamana Karma in Mandala Kushtha(Psoriasis).Ayu.2012;33(2)224-229.

en_GBEnglish

» Ayurvedische Behandlung von Schuppenflechte – Erfahrungen aus der klinischen Forschung

Jahr: 2021
Sprache: Englisch

Das Alter ist nur eine Zahl, vor allem wenn es um Ihre Hautpflege geht. Die beste Grundierung, die Sie auftragen können, ist eine gesunde Haut, sie ist ein Spiegelbild des allgemeinen Wohlbefindens. Die Haut ist die exponierteste Grenze zur Außenwelt, Hautkrankheiten werden häufig von anderen wahrgenommen. Da Hautkrankheiten in der Regel mit einem sozialen Stigma behaftet sind, muss der Betroffene sowohl mit seiner Krankheit als auch mit der negativen Reaktion anderer umgehen. Daher ist eine Investition in die Haut sehr wichtig, da sie uns für eine sehr lange Zeit repräsentieren wird. Die Psoriasis ist eine chronische immunvermittelte (als Autoimmunerkrankung), entzündliche Multisystemerkrankung, bei der vor allem die Haut und die Gelenke betroffen sind. Sie beeinträchtigt die Lebensqualität der Patienten erheblich und stellt eine große körperliche, emotionale und soziale Belastung dar. Die Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) hat die Psoriasis als ernste, entstellende, behindernde, nicht übertragbare Krankheit anerkannt, die aufgrund ihrer psychologischen, sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Belastung eine große Herausforderung für die öffentliche Gesundheit darstellt (i). Einer wissenschaftlichen Studie zufolge war die Psoriasis-Belastung in Ländern mit hohem Einkommen und hohem soziodemografischen Index am größten (ii). Obwohl die Behandlung der Psoriasis in der modernen Medizin dank wissenschaftlicher Forschungen Fortschritte macht, gibt es eine hohe Rückfallquote. Das ist der Grund, warum Ayurveda besser wirkt.

Es gibt verschiedene Studien über die Wirksamkeit von Bio-Reinigung (Shodhana) und oralen ayurvedischen Medikamenten bei Psoriasis. Solche Studien berichteten über eine signifikante Linderung der Anzeichen und Symptome der Psoriasis und eine bessere Lebensqualität, ohne dass es nach wiederholten Bio-Reinigungen in regelmäßigen Abständen zu erneuten Schüben kam (iii).

Bio-Reinigung (Shodhana) zusammen mit externen Therapien kann wahrscheinlich zu endogenen Veränderungen im Körper geführt haben, die für die Linderung der Psoriasis-Pathologie verantwortlich sind. Sie hätte auch zu einer entzündungshemmenden Wirkung geführt, die eine Hemmung der Zytokine und der Keratinozytenproliferation bewirkt (iv). Die aus der Beobachtung der klinischen Forschung gewonnenen Daten sind vielversprechend mit einer 80-90%igen Verbesserung bei statistischer Signifikanz (P<0,005) der Anzeichen und Symptome der Psoriasis auf der Grundlage von PASI und DLQI. Während der Präsentation werden alle Ergebnisse und Erfahrungen während der klinischen Forschung im Detail zusammen mit den relevanten Beweisen mitgeteilt.

_____________

Quellen

(i) World Health Organization. Global report on psoriasis. Available at: https://apps.who.int/iris/handle/10665/204417
(ii) Sino Mehrmal, Prabhdeep Uppal, Natalie Nedley, Rachel L. Giesey, Gregory R. Delost, The global, regional, and national burden of psoriasis in 195 countries and territories, 1990 to 2017: A systematic analysis from the Global Burden of Disease Study 2017, Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, Volume 84, Issue 1,2021, Pages 46-52, ISSN 0190-9622
(iii) Sneha patil, Prashanth bhat.Importance of repeated Shodhana in Kitibha Kushtha(Psoriasis) Acase study .IJAPR,2021;9:40-44.
(iv) Gunjan Mangal,Gopesh Mangal,Radhey Sham.Clinical efficacy of Shodhana karma and Shamana Karma in Mandala Kushtha(Psoriasis).Ayu.2012;33(2)224-229

de_DEGerman