» The role of Shodhana for health strengthening in the context of Svasthavritta

Year: 2020
Language: English, German

Human body has been designed to resist an infinite number of changes and attacks brought about by natural environment. The secret of good health lies in successful adaptations to changing realms around the body. But somewhere on the go, we have forgot that we still remain to be one among the creations of nature. Slowly we started drifting away from nature and tried to get identified as a supreme creature who can do anything and everything within nature. From real world we started loving and living more in virtual world. From true nature we moved away, so far away, so that nature itself has to remind us how and where we belong to. We have ample examples to understand same, I guess the present situation can even be related to same.

Ayurveda, the true science of life guided us being healthy happy and content. Being a part of nature makes it obvious for any creature on its surface to get influenced by every change that happens across. Ancient Indian sages very clearly observed these subtle changes that happened in human body. They translated and recorded it in the principle of Dosha and its imbalances. As the seasons vary there can be accumulation of these Doshas by nature and spilling out when exceeded beyond limits. These can be observed as minor or major symptoms of Doshic expressions or even as disorders. One who is aware about these can prevent the accumulation or spilling out even before it happens by seasonal adaptation of specific Shodhana (Purification) indicated. Shodhana or purification has been beautifully elaborated in the context of Panchakarma by the ancient seers.

Scientific Studies have evidenced that the complex intervention of Panchakarma may be effective in assisting one’s expected and reported adherence to new and healthier behaviour patterns.1 Studies even reported PCBs and Beta-HCH levels were reduced by 46 percent and 58 percent respectively in Panchakarma group. Without this intervention, the expected drop in PCBs and Beta-HCH over two months would be only a fraction of one percent. Previously, no method had been scientifically verified to reduce levels of these lipid-soluble toxicants in the human body without causing negative side effects.2 In yet another study, pathway analysis suggests that the Panchakarma intervention results in change of metabolites across many pathways such as phospholipid biosynthesis, choline metabolism, and lipoprotein metabolism. The observed plasma metabolomic alterations may reflect a Panchakarma-induced modulation of metabotypes. Panchakarma promoted statistically significant changes in plasma levels of phosphatidylcholines, sphingomyelins and others.3

It is very clearly evident through scientific literature too that, Panchakarma therapies can not only remove systemic accumulated Doshas from body, but at the same time prevent the forth coming diseases and also significantly improve the health status of an Individual’s perusal of harmony to body mind and spirit – “Swasthya”. In this paper, will try to detail the intricacies and reality behind the relevance of Shodhana in improving health with special reference to “Swastha”.

_____________

1 Conboy L, Edshteyn I, Garivaltis H. Ayurveda and Panchakarma: measuring the effects of a holistic health intervention. ScientificWorldJournal. 2009;9:272-280. published 2009 Apr 27. doi:10.1100/tsw.2009.35
2 Alternative therapies in health and medicine (2002) vol 8 (5) 93-95
3 Peterson, C., Lucas, J., John-Williams, L. et al. Identification of Altered Metabolomic Profiles Following a Panchakarma-based Ayurvedic Intervention in Healthy Subjects: The Self-Directed Biological Transformation Initiative (SBTI). Sci Rep 6, 32609 (2016). https://doi.org/10.1038/srep32609

en_GBEnglish

» Die Rolle von Shodhana für die Gesundheitsstärkung im Kontext von Svasthavritta

Jahr: 2020
Sprache: Englisch, Deutsch

Der menschliche Körper ist so konzipiert, dass er einer unendlichen Anzahl von Veränderungen und Angriffen durch die natürliche Umwelt widerstehen kann. Das Geheimnis einer guten Gesundheit liegt in der erfolgreichen Anpassung an sich verändernde Bereiche um den Körper herum. Aber irgendwo unterwegs haben wir vergessen, dass wir immer noch eine der Schöpfungen der Natur sind. Langsam begannen wir uns von der Natur abzuwenden und versuchten, uns als höchstes Geschöpf zu identifizieren, das alles und jedes in der Natur tun kann. Von der realen Welt aus begannen wir zu lieben und mehr in der virtuellen Welt zu leben. Von der wahren Natur entfernten wir uns, so weit weg, dass die Natur selbst uns daran erinnern muss, wie und wohin wir gehören. Wir haben reichlich Beispiele, um das Gleiche zu verstehen, ich denke, die gegenwärtige Situation kann sogar auf das Gleiche bezogen werden.

Ayurveda, die wahre Wissenschaft vom Leben, leitete uns an, gesund, glücklich und zufrieden zu sein. Ein Teil der Natur zu sein, macht es für jedes Lebewesen auf ihrer Oberfläche offensichtlich, dass es von jeder Veränderung, die auf seiner Oberfläche geschieht, beeinflusst wird. Die alten indischen Weisen haben diese subtilen Veränderungen, die im menschlichen Körper geschehen, sehr deutlich beobachtet. Sie übersetzten sie in das Dosha-Prinzip und seine Ungleichgewichte und hielten sie fest. Da die Jahreszeiten unterschiedlich sind, können sich diese Doshas von Natur aus anhäufen und auslaufen, wenn sie über die Grenzen hinaus überschritten werden. Diese können als leichte oder schwere Symptome von Dosha-Ausdrücken oder sogar als Störungen beobachtet werden. Wer sich dessen bewusst ist, kann die Anhäufung oder das Herausschwappen verhindern, noch bevor es geschieht, indem er eine jahreszeitliche Anpassung von spezifischem Shodhana (Reinigung) anzeigt. Shodhana oder Reinigung ist im Zusammenhang mit Panchakarma von den alten Sehern wunderschön ausgearbeitet worden.

Wissenschaftliche Studien haben bewiesen, dass die komplexe Intervention des Panchakarma wirksam sein kann, um die erwartete und berichtete Einhaltung neuer und gesünderer Verhaltensmuster zu unterstützen.1 Studien berichteten sogar, dass die PCB- und Beta-HCH-Werte in der Panchakarma-Gruppe um 46 Prozent bzw. 58 Prozent gesenkt wurden. Ohne diese Intervention würde der erwartete Rückgang der PCB- und Beta-HCH-Werte innerhalb von zwei Monaten nur einen Bruchteil von einem Prozent ausmachen. Zuvor war noch keine Methode wissenschaftlich verifiziert worden, um die Werte dieser lipidlöslichen Giftstoffe im menschlichen Körper zu senken, ohne negative Nebenwirkungen zu verursachen.2 In einer weiteren Studie deutet die Analyse der Stoffwechselwege darauf hin, dass die Panchakarma-Intervention zu einer Veränderung der Metaboliten über viele Stoffwechselwege wie die Phospholipid-Biosynthese, den Cholinstoffwechsel und den Lipoproteinstoffwechsel führt. Die beobachteten Veränderungen des Plasmametabolismus könnten eine Panchakarma-induzierte Modulation der Metabotypen widerspiegeln. Panchakarma förderte statistisch signifikante Veränderungen der Plasmaspiegel von Phosphatidylcholinen, Sphingomyelinen und anderen.3

Auch in der wissenschaftlichen Literatur ist sehr klar ersichtlich, dass Panchakarma-Therapien nicht nur systemisch akkumulierte Doshas aus dem Körper entfernen, sondern gleichzeitig den bevorstehenden Krankheiten vorbeugen und auch den Gesundheitszustand des Individuums in Bezug auf die Harmonie von Körper, Geist und Seele – „Swasthya“ – deutlich verbessern können. In diesem Aufsatz wird versucht, die Feinheiten und die Realität hinter der Relevanz von Shodhana für die Verbesserung der Gesundheit unter besonderer Berücksichtigung von „Swastha“ zu beschreiben.

_____________

1 Conboy L, Edshteyn I, Garivaltis H. Ayurveda and Panchakarma: measuring the effects of a holistic health intervention. ScientificWorldJournal. 2009;9:272-280. Published 2009 Apr 27. doi:10.1100/tsw.2009.35
2 Alternative therapies in health and medicine (2002) vol 8 (5) 93-95
3 Peterson, C., Lucas, J., John-Williams, L. et al. Identification of Altered Metabolomic Profiles Following a Panchakarma-based Ayurvedic Intervention in Healthy Subjects: The Self-Directed Biological Transformation Initiative (SBTI). Sci Rep 6, 32609 (2016). https://doi.org/10.1038/srep32609

de_DEGerman
en_GBEnglish de_DEGerman