Prof. Dr. Martin Mittwede (D)

Prof. Dr. Martin Mittwede (D)

Indologist and religious scholar
Prof. Dr. Martin Mittwede is head of the Master of Science in Ayurveda Medicine at the European Academy of Ayurveda. The indologist and religious scholar habilitated already in 1996 with a research project on Ayurveda and has many years of experience in further medical training. He also teaches at the University of Frankfurt/Main and has published numerous works on Ayurveda medicine.

Sattva Bala - Ayurvedic measures for mental stability

Year: 2020
Unfortunately there is no description here yet.

Do the gunas still fit for modern food?

Year: 2020
Unfortunately there is no description here yet.

Interpretation of classical Ayurveda sources against the background of modern medicine

Year: 2018
Unfortunately there is no description here yet.

Information meeting about the study of Ayurveda medicine at the European Academy for Ayurveda

Year: 2018
Unfortunately there is no description here yet.

"Ayurveda and Salutogenesis - Using resources for health

Year: 2017

Ayurveda and Salutogenesis - Using resources for health
Prof. Dr. Martin Mittwede
Ayurveda can be understood not only as a traditional medical system but also as a health system that wants to help people not to get sick in the first place. The Sanskrit term for health is "svasthya", literally translated this means "resting in the Self". In this sense, health is a functioning self-reference, a situation in which the person knows himself in harmony with himself. This includes a knowledge of one's own constitution with its strengths and weaknesses and the affirmation of this individual existence.

From an Ayurvedic point of view, using health resources in everyday life is an important criterion for maintaining health. In the centre of an ayurvedic health education is the conscious perception, the sensitivity for the various influences that promote or disturb the balance of life forces. No general rules can be set up for this, as there are always new combinations of influences. The basis of a conscious perception is the development of self-knowledge and openness for external and internal processes. For this purpose, many approaches have been developed which can be used in daily life. These will be discussed in the lecture.

All activities of life should have the right measure inherent, which in turn is not defined by Ayurvedic doctors in general, but always with regard to the individual person and his current situation. Thus, when eating, the right amount is that which one can consume without feeling heavy and burdened. This can change within a few hours for an individual person, e.g. due to stress and tension or emotional strain, the digestive capacity can be drastically reduced.

Salutogenesis according to Aaron Antonovsky analyses how health can be maintained. At the centre of this model is the sense of coherence, which captures the resistance resources of a person. Salutogenesis is a scientific approach to medicine that focuses on which resources can help a person maintain or even restore health - in contrast to the dominant physical-pathological approach. For this, the human being must be viewed as a whole - and not reduced to purely physical processes. In the context of Salutogenesis and also Ayurveda, health is a process that is influenced by dynamic interactions.

The self as a resource for health - spiritual dimensions of Ayurveda

Year: 2016
Unfortunately there is no description here yet.

Psychosomatics in Ayurvedic diagnostics

Year: 2019
Unfortunately there is no description here yet.
en_GBEnglish

Prof. Dr. Martin Mittwede (D)

Prof. Dr. Martin Mittwede (D)

Indologe und Religionswissenschaftler
Prof. Dr. Martin Mittwede ist Studienleiter des Studiengangs Master of Science in Ayurveda-Medizin an der Europäischen Akademie für Ayurveda. Der Indologe und Religionswissenschaftler habilitierte bereits 1996 mit einem Forschungsprojekt über Ayurveda und besitzt langjährige Erfahrungen in der ärztlichen Fortbildung. Er lehrt außerdem an der Universität Frankfurt/Main und hat zahlreiche Arbeiten über die Ayurveda-Medizin veröffentlicht.

Interpretation klassischer Ayurveda-Quellen vor dem Hintergrund moderner Medizin

Infotreffen zum Studium der Ayurveda-Medizin an der Europäischen Akademie für Ayurveda

» Ayurveda und Salutogenese – Ressourcen für die Gesundheit nutzen

Ayurveda und Salutogenese – Ressourcen für die Gesundheit nutzen
Prof. Dr. Martin Mittwede
Der Ayurveda kann nicht nur als ein traditionelles Medizinsystem sondern auch als ein Gesundheitssystem verstanden werden, welches dem Menschen helfen will, gar nicht erst krank zu werden. Der Sanskritbegriff für Gesundheit lautet „svasthya“, wörtlich übersetzt bedeutet dies „Ruhen im Selbst“. Gesundheit ist in diesem Sinne ein funktionierender Selbstbezug, eine Situation, in der der Mensch sich mit sich selbst im Einklang weiß. Dazu gehören eine Kenntnis der eigenen Konstitution mit ihren Stärken und Schwächen und die Bejahung dieses individuellen Soseins.

Gesundheitliche Ressourcen im Alltag zu nutzen stellt aus ayurvedischer Sicht ein wichtiges Kriterium für die Erhaltung der Gesundheit dar. Im Zentrum einer ayurvedischen Gesundheitsbildung steht die bewusste Wahrnehmung, die Sensibilität für die vielfältigen Einflüsse, die das Gleichgewicht der Lebenskräfte fördern oder stören. Hierfür lassen sich keine allgemeine Regeln aufstellen, da immer neue Kombinationen von Einflüssen vorliegen. Basis einer bewussten Wahrnehmung ist die Entwicklung von Selbsterkenntnis und Offenheit für äußere und innere Prozesse. Hierfür wurden viele Ansätze entwickelt, die im täglichen Leben eingesetzt werden können. Diese werden im Vortrag thematisiert.

Allen Aktivitäten des Lebens sollte das richtige Maß innewohnen, welches von den ayurvedischen Ärzten wiederum nicht allgemein, sondern immer im Hinblick auf die einzelne Person und ihre aktuelle Situation definiert wird. So ist beim Essen die richtige Menge die, die man, ohne sich schwer und belastet zu fühlen, verzehren kann. Diese kann sich bei einer einzelnen Person innerhalb von wenigen Stunden verändern, z.B. kann bedingt durch Stress und Anspannung oder durch emotionale Belastungen die Verdauungsfähigkeit drastisch reduziert sein.

Die Salutogenese nach Aaron Antonovsky analysiert, wie Gesundheit erhalten werden kann. Im Zentrum dieses Modells steht das Kohärenzgefühl, welches die Widerstandsressourcen eines Menschen erfasst. Salutogenese ist ein wissenschaftlicher Ansatz in der Medizin, die den Fokus darauf legt, welche Ressourcen bei einem Menschen helfen können, Gesundheit zu bewahren oder sogar wiederherzustellen – im Gegensatz zur dominierenden physisch-pathologischen Betrachtungsweise. Dafür muss der Mensch als Ganzes betrachtet werden – und darf nicht auf rein körperliche Prozesse reduziert werden. Gesundheit ist im Kontext der Salutogenese und auch des Ayurveda ein Prozess, der durch dynamische Wechselwirkungen beeinflusst wird.

Das Selbst als Ressource der Gesundheit – spirituelle Dimensionen des Ayurveda

de_DEGerman
en_GBEnglish de_DEGerman