Priv.-Doz. Dr. med. Christian Keßler (D)

Priv.-Doz. Dr. med. Christian Kessler (D)

Internist, researcher, indologist
private lecturer Dr. med. Christian S. Kessler, MA is senior physician and research coordinator at the Immanuel Hospital Berlin and is scientifically active at the Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin on Ayurveda and many other topics. He has a master's degree in Indology and is the medical director of the advanced training for doctors "Ayurveda as complementary medicine" in Berlin.

» Which strategic priorities does clinical Ayurveda research in Germany need in the 2020s?

Year: 2020

What kind of Ayurveda research do we need? And what do we need for Ayurveda research?

Medical Ayurveda research in Germany and Europe is still in its infancy despite visible efforts and some high-quality scientific publications. Ayurveda is still light years away from a wider acceptance in the public health systems of most European countries - the prerequisite for this is evidence from research and of this there is simply too little and of the little available research too little is really good research. There is still a lack of an interconnected support scene and a sufficiently networked infrastructure for scientific projects on Ayurveda in all areas: basic research, clinical studies and interdisciplinary approaches. This lecture will show which kind of research could make effective contributions to the establishment of Ayurveda in Germany and Europe and which basic conditions have to be created for this.

This lecture will show which kind of research could make effective contributions to the establishment of Ayurveda in Germany and Europe and which basic conditions have to be created for this.

Ayurveda nutritional advice for irritable bowel syndrome - first results of a clinical study

Year: 2019

Irritable bowel syndrome (RDS) is a common disease and patients with RDS have symptoms that can significantly affect quality of life. A multicenter randomized controlled clinical trial with 69 patients with RDS was conducted between January 2017 and February 2019 at the Outpatient Clinics for Integrative Medicine at the Charité University Outpatient Clinic for Naturopathy at the Immanuel Hospital Berlin and the Department of Naturopathy at the Essen Mitte Clinics. The patients received either traditional Ayurvedic nutritional counselling or RDS nutritional counselling according to the recommendations of the German Society for Nutrition in three 45-minute individual sessions in weeks 1, 3 and 9 after the start of the study. The study visits took place at the beginning of the study after 3 and 6 months. The primary endpoint was the severity of RDS measured by the IBS-SSS questionnaire after 3 months. Secondary endpoint parameters included stress (using CPSS), anxiety and depression (using HADS-D) and RDS-specific quality of life (using IBS-QOL). First results of this study will be presented.

en_GBEnglish

Priv.-Doz. Dr. med. Christian Keßler (D)

Priv.-Doz. Dr. med. Christian Keßler (D)

Internist, Forscher, Indologe
Priv.-Doz. Dr. med. Christian S. Keßler, MA ist Oberarzt und Forschungskoordinator am Immanuel Krankenhaus Berlin und ist an der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin zu Ayurveda und vielen anderen Themen wissenschaftlich tätig. Er hat einen Magister in Indologie und betreut als medizinischer Leiter die Ärzte-Fortbildung „Ayurveda als komplementäre Medizin“ in Berlin.

» Welche strategischen Schwerpunkte braucht die klinische Ayurveda-Forschung der 2020er Jahre in Deutschland?

Jahr: 2020

Was für Ayurveda-Forschung brauchen wir? Und was brauchen wir für Ayurveda-Forschung?

Die medizinische Ayurveda-Forschung in Deutschland und Europa steckt trotz sichtbarer Bemühungen und einiger hochwertiger wissenschaftlicher Publikationen noch immer in den Kinderschuhen. Von einer breiteren Akzeptanz im öffentlichen Gesundheitswesen hierzulande ist Ayurveda noch Lichtjahre entfernt – Voraussetzung hierfür ist eben vielfach Evidenz aus Forschung und von der gibt es bisher schlicht viel zu wenig und von der wenigen Forschung zu wenig wirklich gute Forschung. Es fehlt nach wie vor eine entsprechende Förderszene und eine ausreichend vernetzte Infrastruktur für wissenschaftliche Projekte zu Ayurveda in allen Bereichen: Grundlagenforschung, klinische Studien und interdisziplinäre Ansätze.

In diesem Vortrag wird aufgezeigt, welche Art von Forschung effektive Beiträge zu einer Etablierung von Ayurveda in Deutschland und Europa leisten können und welche Grundvoraussetzungen hierfür geschaffen werden müssen.

Ayurveda-Ernährungsberatung bei Reizdarm-Syndrom – erste Ergebnisse einer klinischen Studie

Jahr: 2019

Das Reizdarmsyndrom (RDS) ist eine häufige Erkrankung und Patienten mit RDS haben Symptome, die die Lebensqualität erheblich beeinträchtigen können. Eine multizentrische randomisierte kontrollierte klinische Studie mit 69 Patienten mit RDS wurde zwischen Januar 2017 und Februar 2019 an den Ambulanzen für Integrative Medizin an der Charité Hochschulambulanz für Naturheilkunde am Immanuel Krankenhaus Berlin und der Abteilung Naturheilkunde der Kliniken Essen Mitte durchgeführt. Die Patienten erhielten entweder eine traditionelle Ayurveda-Ernährungsberatung oder eine RDS-Ernährungsberatung nach Empfehlungen der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Ernährung in jeweils drei 45-minütigen Einzelsitzungen in Woche 1, 3 und 9 nach Studienbeginn. Die Studienvisiten fanden zu Studienbeginn nach 3 und 6 Monaten statt. Primärer Endpunkt war der Schweregrad des RDS gemessen mit dem IBS-SSS-Fragebogen nach 3 Monaten. Zu den sekundären Zielparametern zählten unter anderem Stressbelastung (mittels CPSS), Angst und Depressivität (mittels HADS-D) sowie RDS-spezifische Lebensqualität (mittels IBS-QOL). Erste Ergebnisse dieser Studie werden vorgestellt.

de_DEGerman
en_GBEnglish de_DEGerman